You are here: Home > Events > TPM 2017 > Awards 2017

TPM Awards

Drinks Reception, Awards Ceremony and Dinner

The annual awards ceremony and dinner will take place on the evening of Wednesday, 28 June in the Old Library at Nottingham Conference Centre. The evening will begin with the Transport Planning Society-sponsored drinks reception, which is open to all delegates, followed by the ticketed awards ceremony and three-course meal. Awards dinner tickets are included in all two-day conference rates. Additional tickets can be purchased for £49 + VAT.

Dress code: Business casual



Six awards will be presented at the conference:

The PTRC Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by PTRC, this award will be presented to an individual or organisation for their long-term commitment and contribution to the profession and/or the development of the transport agenda in the UK. In 2016, the PTRC Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Peter White, Emeritus Professor at University of Westminster for his contribution to the transport planning profession.


Best Paper Demonstrating Sustainable Transport Solutions

The PTRC award for Best Paper at TPM Demonstrating Sustainable Transport Solutions was given to Mark Jenks and Martin Philpott of Sustrans for their paper Community Street Design at the 2016 TPM.


Transport Planner of the Year

Sponsored by the Transport Planning Society, this prize will be awarded to a member of the profession for their involvement in delivering a policy or initiative which has required courage and vision to win hearts and minds. The 2016 Transport Planner of the Year Award was presented to Stephen Wood from the Department for Infrastructure, Northern Ireland.


Best Paper at the Conference by a Young Professional

This prize, also sponsored by the Transport Planning Society, will be awarded to the best paper at the conference by a young professional aged 28 years and under. In 2016 this award for Best Paper at the Conference by a Young Practitioner was given to Hannah Clark of Devon County Council for her paper An Investigation into TEMPro Growth Factors.

Voorhees-Large Prize

In memory of Brian Large, a former director of planning consultancy MVA , The Brian Large Bursary Fund 2016 Voorhees-Large Prize was awarded to Imogen Thompson of Transport for London for her MSc Transport and City Planning dissertation Identifying the Impact of Transport Connectivity on Housing Prices in London:  A Hedonic Analysis of Two Transport Links.

Urban Transport Design Award

In 2016, the Urban Movement-sponsored Urban Transport Design Award was presented to two schemes; the West Yorkshire Combined Authority for the Castleford Bus Station Redevelopment and Leicester City Council for their programme of works. London Borough of Ealing was Highly Commended for their Southall Broadway Boulevard scheme.


*TfL supports the continued training and transfer of knowledge amongst transport planners promoted by TPM