You are here: Home > Events > TPM 2017 > Awards 2017

2017 TPM Award Winners

The PTRC Lifetime Achievement Award

Sponsored by PTRC, this award is presented to an individual or organisation for their long-term commitment and contribution to the profession and/or the development of the transport agenda in the UK. This year, the PTRC Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Luis (Pilo) Willumsen for his contribution to the world of transport modelling.


Best Paper Demonstrating Sustainable Transport Solutions

The PTRC award for Best Paper at TPM Demonstrating Sustainable Transport Solutions was given to Rachel Tate and Adam Sendall for their paper Make it personal: Lessons learnt from successful business engagement in Derby.


Transport Planner of the Year

Sponsored by the Transport Planning Society, this prize will be awarded to a member of the profession for their involvement in delivering a policy or initiative which has required courage and vision to win hearts and minds. The 2017 Transport Planner of the Year Award was presented to Nicola Kane of Transport for Greater Manchester.


Best Paper at the Conference by a Young Professional

This prize, also sponsored by the Transport Planning Society, is awarded to the best paper at the conference by a young professional aged 28 years and under. In 2017 the award for Best Paper at the Conference by a Young Practitioner was given to  Edward Dawes of Arup for his paper entitled  Evaluating the Impact of Light Rail on Urban Gentrification : Quantitative Evidence from Nottingham’s LRT.


Voorhees-Large Prize

In memory of Brian Large, a former director of planning consultancy MVA, The Brian Large Bursary Fund 2017 Voorhees-Large Prize was awarded to Colin Harwood for his Westminster University Masters dissertation An Investigation into the Accuracy of Trip Generation Forecasts for New Developments in England.


Urban Transport Design Award

In 2017, the Urban Movement sponsored Urban Transport Design Award was presented to Waltham Forest for their scheme Walthamstow Village. Two commended awards were given to Kidderminster for the Exchange Place, Kidderminster scheme and Hounslow Council for their scheme Church Street, Isleworth


*TfL supports the continued training and transfer of knowledge amongst transport planners promoted by TPM